Drawing a Proportional Face – Front View

Anime Manga face proportions realisticHi there again!

Today we are going to study how to draw a proportional face. Before you start drawing, it’s important to do a sketch of what the proportions of your drawing are going to be. And by this I don’t mean just how big or small, but to locate and sketch the correct size of a head, and then place a line, or circles, where the eyes, mouth, nose, and ears are going to be.

Our friend sanguigna begins his example of how to draw a proportional face by first drawing a triangle that meets the eyes and the chin of our character. After that, you should mark some references of where the nose, ears, and hair line is going to be.

Remember, always start by sketching correct proportions, as this is the key for having a well-done drawing. The good thing is that if you fail in drawing the correct proportions, you can just erase them with pencil (as they are just sketches), and then redo them without any major loss. In contrary, if you have made half your drawing with all details, eyelashes, shadows, and you realize that the face shape looks akward when you begin drawing your nose… well … time to start again and throw away all work done.

For many (my case too), drawing correct outlines of proportions will imply drawing many incorrect lines and will result in a scratched and erased ugly piece of paper. In my case, I sketch the outlines of the right proportions, and once I get it rigth, I copy the outlines to another piece of paper by putting one paper over another. A good idea is to use a glass transparent table, and place a lamp below the table. The papers will become translucent and help you copy the outlines easier. After that, you can begin drawing the details such as shadows, eyelashes, hair strands, etc.

In the following example, apart from learning how to make the correct proportions by the aid of the triangle, I recommend that you also press attention to the shadowing of the lips and drawing of the hair strands as it’s really well done.
Please note that the following drawing is done by a front view, and that proportions change depending the view. 3/4 view is a little more complicated so front view would be a great start. Our friend draws in more realistic style, but as said in the other tutorials, same rules apply for manga and anime style, where traits are more exaggerated.

I hope you enjoyed this tutorial!
Please leave me your comments!

Cheers!
Questor

P.S: If there is any topic you would like me to expose please tell me and I will see what can I do! 🙂

42 Responses to Drawing a Proportional Face – Front View

  1. Juggle says:

    Pretty good although it’s in Mute Mode ^^. Thnx for the Tut Vid I learned a lot but … the eyes seem a bit far from each other almost touching the ears. ^^

  2. Questor says:

    Yeah… she looks kind of Indian.. haha
    Although I agree with you too that for example the nose shadow between the eyes could have been better done, maybe that’s what makes it look a bit kind of akward. Anyways, I think it’s a great vid to learn from the basic proportions of the female face, and I just love how he does the lips and eyes… really nice technique!

    Thanks for your comments and I am really glad you are enjoying it!
    Cheers!
    Rod

  3. Juggle says:

    ^^, I’m an avid fan now since I’m still learning the basics ^^. Great tutorials and I think I’ll be busy learning the lips cuz I really likte how it was done ^^.

  4. Questor says:

    Hi Juggle!
    It’s so nice to hear from you back! I am really glad that you like the tutorials and that they are helpful! ;o) Yeah.. those lips are really cute and well done…
    Hey it would be great to see your drawings! I posted an email contact on the top right of the page, so send them in when you have any of them ready!

    Cheers!
    Questor

  5. vanSchmidt says:

    Hmm.. this tutorial didn’t teach me much expet for the triangle nose and mouth part.
    I think I know alot of about drawing, anatomy is another problem.

  6. eran says:

    this was great, i never knew about the triangle thing and at first i thought it might not work since real eyes are closer together than that, but in the end and even before that it make perfect sense. i think i might give that a try.

  7. Questor says:

    Hi Eran!
    Thanks so much for your comment, I am really happy that you enjoyed the tutorial and that you found my material usefull! 🙂
    We’d love to post any of your drawings too! Thanks for visiting our page and check for updates! 🙂

    Cheers!
    Questor

  8. windymustang says:

    Thank you so much for the tutorial. I joined youtube this week looking for examples just like this. I found the video here on google. This was a great help. I’m an abstract artist but have decided to sketch some realism for now. Great job!

  9. Questor says:

    Hi Windymustang,
    I am so happy you enjoyed the tutorial!
    Thanks for the kind words! And if you get to make an abstract drawing tutorial we may put it on our site as well ;o)

    Cheers!
    Questor

    P.S: Check in the Categories section for the other drawing tutorials on this site too… I wrote like three more. I like drawing Manga, so most of them are related to that topic but contain tips that can be used for realistic drawing too. Hope they are useful :o)

  10. marti333 says:

    I’m very impresed by what i have watched. Is it possible the man who draw this magnificent picture to send me a copy on the e-mail, pleeeeeeease. 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  11. marti333 says:

    i forgot the e-mail darkhorse AT mail.bg

    Thank you!!!

    🙂 🙂 🙂

  12. Questor says:

    Hi Marti!!!
    I am glad that you enjoyed the article!
    Yes.. the drawing is amazing! I loved it too!
    You could send a message to the author in youtube and see if you get a response!

    Have a great day and keep checking for great videos and articles! ;o)
    Questor

    P.S: I modified your email address and replaced the@ for ‘AT’ so that you don’t get spam mail ;o). Cheers!

  13. SINDYHEHE says:

    nice ,i love it~

  14. Questor says:

    Hi Sindy! Thanks for the warm comment! 🙂
    I just checked out your site.
    Do you draw manga and anime!?

    Cheers!
    Questor

  15. Hi
    My frend recomended the site
    The site has an interesting title
    I’ve read many corresnondences
    I want to open a new theme
    It will be interesting
    We’ll mett again
    mortgage

  16. yuki says:

    wow. that was awsome. i’ve never been able to draw well before but using your video i was able to copy teh stroke and made a rather good male instead of female thankes ^^. i’ll use it to practice some more then try and develop my own.

  17. artist says:

    Hi man that was cool
    Im a big artist in my school….I love sketching im not good at all with coloring but im really good in sketching….So anyways that tot was awsome I didnt know you could use a triangle to get a more accurate position…This is going to make it so much easyer thanks….Oh by the was I would love to see a tut of any other ways or methade of drawing a body…..I can do it just fine but it takes me long and i erase a bit before i get it good…so If you got any ways of drawing the body faster and more accurate I would love to see it,,,,,,,,,LOL Thats that was COOL…hope to here HTH

  18. Questor says:

    Hi!
    Thanks for your comments! I glad that you enjoyed the tutorial and that it was useful!!!!
    We’ll try to post more tutorials on body drawing so stay tuned, and by the way, if you are ‘big artist’ in your school, send us one of your drawings!!! :o) We’d love to see it. Our mail is edutainmentblog @ gmail.com

    Stay in touch and tell us more about you,
    Cheers!
    Questor

  19. Thomas Pope says:

    This Was Awesome I thought I was good but after seeing you I didn’t have a clue

  20. Questor says:

    Hi Thomas! Thanks! I really enjoyed writing this tutorial too. Tell me more about yourself and stay in touch! Cheers!

  21. penn says:

    yeah dude. those proportions are waaay off. thats not a realistic face at all sorry.
    and the equilateral triangle only works if you draw it from the center of both eyes to the center of the lips

  22. Questor says:

    Penn, We’d be glad to receive a tutorial written by yourself.
    Show us how to do it, and we’ll publish it. I defy you to draw better than him and send me your article at our mail. :oP
    Cheers!
    Questor

  23. SamaraRegion says:

    its the best post from you, thanks a lot

  24. manga fan says:

    ive seen better the only reson i said that is because ive whatch people on you tube mabe 3 or 4 days ago but thats not the point. the point is i seen people make girls out of cuve lines. your mistake was you made your eyes too wide. but ive neever see some one make it like that i am like wow. keep at it because mabe like 3 or 5 yares ago i was stuned at amican drawilings, i couled drawl worth pig guts. but now i can draw teen anime little ash cans and so on. keep at you will get better. the paces ive been to wher snafu-comixs. turst you will get better i f you work on it. ive whached over 30-50 diffent anime shows. ive had alot of peractice. ive sat down looked at informer game mag and i seen this cool anime drawling and sat down drawlin re drawilig it over and over, iwas at the point where ive cryed. i sat all night. 10:??pm-3:?? pm. ive got it it was happyest day of my llife. im curenty 15. thank and have a nice day.

  25. manga fan says:

    over all cool

  26. Questor says:

    Hi Manga fan! I am glad you enjoyed the tutorial and thanks for the tips as they might be useful to other people too! Stay in touch and make sure to tell me more about you! Cheers!

  27. Adriana says:

    Congratulations and thank you so mouch!!!
    your page is really cool!!
    I can draw the anime pretty well, but i need learn more,
    that form of do it, i havent know it.

  28. art dude says:

    wow! that video of that girl left me dumbfounded.,,,i was like what is he doing with the triangle at first…then i saw the eyes and was amazed. I draw a lot and will try this teqnique…only one question though how come the eyes are kinda far apart? is it a style or is it just the girl? well anyways that vid was totally amazing!!!:P

  29. Arial says:

    LoveLoveLove!! This helped my out so much! Thanks!!!

  30. johnnyvouy says:

    i like the tutorial
    but…….
    the speaker
    has many wrong grammar
    anyway
    his tutorial is ……GOOD

    godbless

    —johnnyvouy—-

  31. correction.... says:

    you do know that the eyes are supposed to be … a bit closer together than those in the video right???

    cuz the face’s width at the eye part (?) is supposed to be 5x the length of one eye.

    and OBVIOUSLY those the distance between those eyes was not one eye…

    like (-o-o-)
    where as the – and o are both eyes’s length, the “o”‘s are the actual eyes.

  32. ronnie says:

    the vidio is crap

  33. harris says:

    hei dud.. i can draw better than this,,and ur eye is so so so so so wrong!!!!!!

  34. concept about sketching an australian & an american character

  35. anirocks.com says:

    anirocks.com…

    Manga and anime rocks! My fav anime is naruto and i don’t think anyone has herd of this but my fav manga is intial d its awesome! its about cars if you thinking what the heck is intial d: P my brother kinda got me into it… theres a movie of it in ch…

  36. […] attempt of artistic/realistic drawing. i took, as an example, a tutorial found on the internet [edutainmenteng.wordpress.com] and i followed the steps. i draw a girl’s face. it seems to me that i should make her […]

  37. thanks,it realy do help me alot,and i hope to learn more from you.

  38. You are so interesting! I don’t suppode I have
    read something like this before. So wonderful to discokver somebody with a few unique thoughts on ths subject.
    Really.. thank you for starting this up. This site is one thing
    that is required on the web, someone with some originality!

  39. Thank youu for tthe good writeup. It if truth be told used to be a entertainment
    account it. Look complicated to far delivered agreeable from you!

    By the way, how can we keep in touch?

  40. Thhis site truly has all the information and ffacts I needed about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  41. I blog quite often and I seriously thank you for your information. This great article
    has truly peaked myy interest. I will take a note of your website and keep checking for new details about
    once per week. I opted in for your RSS feed too.

Leave a comment